College of Southern Maryland
8730 Mitchell Rd
PO Box 910
La Plata, MD 20646-0910
Please be advised that the Interactive PDF versions of the continuing education schedules†are for reference only and do not reflect course availability or cancellations. For the most up-to-date information about course availability, please use Online Services.
Did you know our Lead Coordinator at the La Plata campus was a Kid' and Teen College student, became a counselor, then an assistant coordinator, a teacher of our courses and then a coordinator. That is dedication to our program. Thank you to Sarah Massie for all your hard work.
|DRIVER EDUCATION FAQ|
The Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) requires this course for those wishing to obtain a Maryland Driverís License for the first time, regardless of age.† The College of Southern Maryland requires that †the student attend an orientation accompanied by a parent/guardian or mentor if student is a minor.† The three hour orientation will be held during the first classroom date of the class and the student must bring their Maryland learners permit to the orientation.† This orientation class will acquaint the student and the parent/guardian or mentor with the 1) college requirements; 2) components of the Marylandís Graduated Licensing Law;† 3) parent/guardian or mentor obligations (60 hours in car practice).††
Maryland's Graduated Licensing Law requires that Driver Education consist of 30 hours of classroom instructor in operator and vehicle control, space management, basic maneuvering, reducing risk and personal factors influencing operator performance, environmental conditions and collision avoidance.† The law also requires 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction by a licensed / certified Driver Education Instructor.†† (CSM offers four - †1½† hr sessions.)
FALL 2014 SCHEDULES:
La Plata Campus and Charles County High Schools
Leonardtown Campus†(NEW Leonardtown Driver Ed Classes Added!)
Prince Frederick Campus and Calvert County High Schools
STUDENT MUST BE 16 YEARS OLD BY THE ORIENTATION DATE OF THE CLASS
In the event of inclement weather please call our emergency closing number 1-800-650-4023.
ATTENTION DRIVERS AGES 25 OR LESS
(AND THEIR PARENTS)
Motor vehicle crashes are the number one cause of death for young adults ages 16-24. Out of 60,000 Colorado students who completed the Alive at 25 program, the program reduced deaths from crashes by 97%! Alive at 25 is a highly interactive behavior modification program delivered by law enforcement personnel. Through interaction and role play, students are persuaded to take responsibility for their actions, adopt safe practices, and focus on healthy decision making and to form their own conclusions about the consequences of risky driving behaviors. Alcohol, distractions, peer pressure, speed factor and more are discussed.
The Driver Improvement Program (DIP) is required by Maryland Law for individuals who have a suspended or revoked driverís license. DIP may also be required for certain violations cited under a provisional license. Individuals participate in the Driver Improvement program through referral by courts or an administrative law judge.†
Upon completion of this course, students should be able to:
Class participation requirements:
Please register at least 2 days before the class starts.