College of Southern Maryland
8730 Mitchell Rd
PO Box 910
La Plata, MD 20646-0910
Please be advised the PDF version of the continuing education schedule is for reference only and does not reflect course availability or cancellations. For the most up-to-date information about course availability, please use Online Services.
The Corporate Center at CSM provides a wide range of services for the business community.
Contact us to learn more.
The Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) requires this course for those wishing to obtain a Maryland Driver’s License for the first time, regardless of age. The College of Southern Maryland requires that the student attend an orientation accompanied by a parent/guardian or mentor. The orientation will be three hours and will be held during the first classroom date of the class. This orientation class will acquaint the student and the parent/guardian or mentor with the 1) college requirements; 2) components of the Maryland’s Graduated Licensing Law; 3) parent/guardian or mentor obligations (60 hours in car practice).
Maryland's Graduated Licensing Law requires that Driver Education consist of 30 hours of classroom instructor in operator and vehicle control, space management, basic maneuvering, reducing risk and personal factors influencing operator performance, environmental conditions and collision avoidance. The law also requires 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction by a licensed / certified Driver Education Instructor. (CSM offers four - 1½ hr sessions.)
The course tuition is $125.00 and the fees are $200.00 totaling $325.00
If you have any questions feel free to contact me by calling 301-934-7870 or 301-884-8131 ext. 7870, by email: firstname.lastname@example.org.