This site uses Flash. You may not have the latest version of the Flash Player installed. Download the free Flash Player.
 

Student Life Links

Realize your Potential

Contact Us

Director of Student Life and Athletics
Michelle Ruble
CC Building, Room 101
MichelleR@csmd.edu
301-934-7508

Student Life Coordinator
Anya Patterson
CC Building, Room 110
apatterson2@csmd.edu
301-934-7508

Manager, Operations
Colleen Joffe
CC Building, Room 110
ColleenJ@csmd.edu
301-934-7508

Upcoming Events

Semester Events

Fall 2014 calendar

Club of the Month

College of Southern Maryland collegiate robotics team, the Talons, won the Tournament Champion Award and the Excellence Award at Purdue University’s robotics competition Jan. 26 in West Lafayette, Indiana. (more)

Facebook

La Plata Campus Clubs & Organizations

All La Plata Campus students are members of the La Plata Student Association, which supports the projects and programs of all student clubs and organizations catering to students with interests ranging from ethnic education to community service.  You too can join, or lead, any of these organizations.  We offer opportunities to start your own club, voice your opinion, give back to your community, network with peers, gain leadership skills, enjoy social activities, and more.  You determine your college experience, so why not start here for a little enhancement.

For more information on how to join or start a campus club, contact the La Plata Campus Student Life Coordinator.  Contact information is located on the left navigation bar.

APPROVED CAMPUS CLUBS AND ORGANIZATIONS

La Plata Campus Student Association
Advisors: Michelle Ruble and Anya Patterson
Email Addressmicheller@csmd.edu and apatterson2@csmd.edu
Membership: Election based positions. Must meet minimum requirements.
Purpose: To provide opportunity for the co-curricular education and personal development of students on campus.

La Plata Campus Budget Board
Advisors: Anya Patterson
Email Address: apatterson2@csmd.edu
Membership: Appointed positions by La Plata Student Association President
Purpose: To serve as a resource by providing information and allocating SA funds in a fiscally responsible manner.

La Plata Campus Student Activities Committee
Advisor: Anya Patterson
E-mail Address: apatterson2@csmd.edu
Membership: Open to all students
Purpose: To plan extra/co-curricular activities for students on the La Plata Campus.

 

RELIGIOUS ORGANIZATIONS

Word Up! Bible Study
Advisor: Timothy Fenner and Kristy Stevens
E-mail Address: tfenner@csmd.edu and kstevens1@csmd.edu
Membership: Open to all students
Purpose: To provide a spiritual and social support system to college students through fellowship in a faith-filled environment.

 

NATIONAL HONOR SOCIETIES

Delta Psi Omega - National Theater Honor Society
 Advisor: Keith Hight
E-mail Address: HHight@csmd.edu
Membership: By special invitation based on GPA and credits completed at CSM.
Purpose: Honor society for theater students.

The National Society of Leadership and Success
Chapter Advisor: Anya Patterson and Michelle Ruble
E-mail Address: apatterson2@csmd.edu and mruble@csmd.edu
Membership: By special invitation based on GPA and credits completed at CSM.
Purpose: To help people discover and achieve their personal and professional goals through leadership development.

 

SPECIAL INTEREST ORGANIZATIONS

Anime Club
Advisor:  Timothy Fenner
Email:  tfenner@csmd.edu
Membership: Open to all students
Purpose: To promote and learn the Japanese culture through the observation of Anime.

The A.R.T. Club
Advisors:  Katherine Sifers and Lindsay Pichaske
Emails:  ksifers@csmd.edu and lpichaske@csmd.edu
Membership: Open to all students.
Purpose: To create art. To promote and build awareness of the arts in Southern MD.

CyberSecurity
Advisor:  Wendy Hume
Email:  wendyh@csmd.edu
Membership: Open to all students
Purpose: To promote security awareness amongst student and area community members.

Democratic Club
Advisor:  Cicero Fain
Email:   cfain@csmd.edu
Membership: Open to all students..
Purpose: Inform the student body about the importance of voting. Create a forum for dialogue regarding issues concerning Southern MD and the Country.

Engineering Club
Advisor:  Shadei Jones
Email:  sjones3@csmd.edu
Membership: Open to all students.
Purpose: Networking in the engineering community. STEM Outreach. To help in seeking Job Interviews.

Fellowship of Christian Athletes
Advisor:  Jennifer Hamilton
Email:  jhamilton1@csmd.edu
Membership: Open to all students
Purpose: To fellowship together and learn more about Jesus Christ while staying fit.

Future Educators Association
Advisor:  Elizabeth Settle
Emailelizabeth.settle@csmd.edu
Membership: Open to all students
Purpose: To provide information about teacher training and the teaching profession.

Performing Arts Club
Advisor: Keith Hight
E-mail: HHight@csmd.edu
Membership: Open to all students
Purpose: To evolve students in the theatrical events and training required to improve their chosen craft. 

Phi Theta Kappa
Advisor:  Mike Green
Email:  MikeG@csmd.edu
Membership:  Requisite academic background.
Purpose:  To help people discover and achieve their personal and professional goals through leadership development.
 
Sign Language Club
Advisor:  Heather Zeolla
Email:  hzeolla@csmd.edu
Membership:  Open to all students
Purpose:  Learn how to use American sign language.

Talons VEX Robotics
Advisor: Bernice Brezina
E-mail: BerniceB@csmd.edu
Membership: Open to all students
Purpose: To learn about the inner working of robotics and compete against other teams. 

Veterans Organization
Advisor:  William "Ed" Moroney
Email:  wmoroney@csmd.edu
Membership: Open to all students
Purpose: To provide support and resource to returning military men, women and their family members attending CSM to meet their goals of obtaining higher education.

Women Empowerment Club
Advisor:  Michelle Ruble
Email:  mruble@csmd.edu
Membership:  Open to all students
Purpose:  To educate, support, inspire, and empower women in today's society.

Women in STEM
Advisor:  Sandra Poinsett
Email:  sandrap@csmd.edu
Membership: Open to all students.
Purpose: To encourage women to pursue their academic interest in STEM.