Statement on Equity from the CSM Board of Trustees

We commit to work for the change we seek.

We believe the College of Southern Maryland advances social justice and economic mobility for all Southern Marylanders through its educational programs.

As members of the Board of Trustees at the College of Southern Maryland, we commit to supporting the work of the college in building a culture of equity and strengthening an inclusive environment that nurtures and supports all learners.

We condemn injustice in all its forms. Racism violates our core values, and will not be tolerated. As citizen trustees, we commit to and hold ourselves accountable for equity in all facets of our policy governance of the College of Southern Maryland.

Board of Trustees

The governing body of the college is appointed by the Governor from citizenry of Calvert, Charles, and St. Mary’s counties. The board consists of nine members, each given a five-year term of office. You may view the meeting schedule, minutes, and agendas here.

Audit Committee; Vice Chair 2019-2020

2017 - present
CSM President

Human Resources and Benefits Committee Chair; CSM Foundation Board Liaison

Human Resources and Benefits Committee; Commencement Speaker & Board Distinguished Service Award Recipients Ad Hoc Committee

Sonja Cox

Audit Committee Chair

Audit Committee; Nominating Committee


Academic and Student Affairs Committee; Human Resources and Benefits Committee; Nominating Committee

Commencement Speaker & Board Distinguished Service Award Recipients Ad Hoc Committee

Academic and Student Affairs Committee;  Commencement Speaker & Board Distinguished Service Award Recipients Ad Hoc Committee

Academic and Student Affairs Committee Chair; Nominating Committee Chair

*Completed remainder of another trustee’s term before being appointed for their own five-year term.
**Appointed by Governor Hogan to the board in 2016 to complete a term that began in 2015; Temporarily

Chief of Staff



Louis P. Jenkins (1999)
John T. Parran, Jr.  (1999)
Henry L. Burke (1999)
Veronica E. Coates (1999)
William Daniel Mayer (1999)
Michael A. Besche (2000)
Dianne McWilliams (2000)
Verna M. Posey (2002)

Delores C. Datcher (2004)
Joseph F. Shannon, Jr (2010)
Mary M. Krug (2016)
James K. Raley, Jr. (2016)
Charles R. Bailey (2016)
Michael L. Middleton (2016)
Dorothea H. Smith (2018)

Sonja Cox, Audit Committee, 2014-2019
Stacey Cooke, Human Resources and Benefits Committee, 2014-present
Daryl Motley, Audit Committee, 2019-Present

President's Council

Dr. Maureen MurphyDr. Maureen Murphy

Learn More about
Dr. Maureen Murphy

Eileen Abel headshotDr. Eileen D. Abel
Vice President of Academic Affairs (DAA)

Responsible for: All credit programs, academic divisions, academic planning, and assessment

Bill Comey headshotDr. Bill L. Comey
Vice President of Operations and Planning (OPP)

Responsible for: All college-wide planning and research functions, all functions necessary for daily campus operations (technology, public safety, scheduling, and facilities)

Tracy Harris headshotDr. Tracy A. Harris
Vice President of Student Equity and Success (SES)

Responsible for: Recruitment, admissions, registration, financial assistance, advising and counseling, special population services, student life, and athletics

Tony Jernigan headshotTony R. Jernigan, CPA
Vice President of Financial Services

Responsible for: All college financial functions, plus auxiliary and public services

Ellen Flowers Fields headshotEllen Flowers-Fields
Associate Vice President of Continuing Education and Workforce Development (CWD)

Responsible for: All non-credit continuing education programs, Workforce Development, Community Education, Maryland Center for Environmental Training, Small Business Development Center, WorkForce Center, and the Nonprofit Institute

Avis McMillon headshotAvis McMillon
Associate Vice President of Marketing and Communication (MAR)

Responsible for: Media relations, creative services, web services, marketing and communications

Craig Patenaude headshotCraig W. Patenaude, Esq.
General Counsel and Vice President of Human Resources and Organizational Development (HRO)

Responsible for: Legal affairs, human resources, diversity and inclusion