Institutional Review Board

This committee develops, implements and regularly reviews procedures, guidelines and instructions for researchers (faculty, staff, and students) to ensure that human subjects are protected according to federal requirements. The IRB works with individuals and departments that conduct research on human subjects to ensure that they are in compliance with regulatory protections and only approves projects that appear to meet all requirements. The IRB prepares and retains all applications and other documentation needed to meet federal requirements regarding the use of human subjects in research. The IRB coordinates training for its members and researchers as required by law.

Institutional Review Board Membership

  • Chairperson: Melanie Osterhouse, Department of Science and Engineering,
  • IRB Liaison: Donna Staff, Planning, Institutional Effectiveness, and Research,
  • Bill Buffington, Community Representative
  • Rachel Cezar, Department of Science and Engineering
  • Kristen Craft, Community Representative
  • Wendy Hayes, Department of Business, Technology and Public Service
  • Eden Kan, Department of Health Sciences
  • Mitchell Levy, Associate Vice President of DAA
  • Ed Moroney, Department of Business, Technology and Public Service
  • Laura Polk, Department of Health Sciences
  • Lauren Vanderlind, Department of English, Communication and Languages

Research Review Forms

The College of Southern Maryland's IRB committee will assist principal investigators with deciding which type of review to request. There are four categories of review: