Benny C. Morgan Concert Series: Brian Ganz


April 10, 2021 - April 11, 2021
03:00 PM - 03:00 PM

Brian Ganz is widely regarded as one of the leading pianists of his generation. A laureate of the Marguerite Long Jacques Thibaud and the Queen Elisabeth of Belgium International Piano Competitions, Mr. Ganz has appeared as soloist with such orchestras as the St. Louis Symphony, the St. Petersburg Philharmonic, the Baltimore Symphony, the National Philharmonic, the National Symphony, the City of London Sinfonia, and the Taipei Philharmonic Orchestra, and has performed with such conductors as Leonard Slatkin, Marin Alsop, Mstislav Rostropovich, Piotr Gajewski and Yoel Levi.

Mr. Ganz is on the piano faculty of St. Mary's College of Maryland, where he is artist-in-residence, and is also a member of the piano faculty of the Peabody Conservatory. He is the artist-editor of the Schirmer Performance Edition of Chopin’s Preludes (2005). Recent performance highlights include Chopin's Piano Concerto No. 2 at the Alba Music Festival in Italy and with the National Philharmonic at Strathmore, Mozart's Piano Concerto K. 466 with the Virginia Chamber Orchestra and the Annapolis Symphony, Beethoven's "Emperor" Concerto with the Billings Symphony, and a solo recital for the Distinguished Artists Series of Santa Cruz, California. 

This performance will be available to watch on CSMDTube for 24 hours starting April 10 at 3 p.m.

View Performance CSMDTube

BENNY CARROLL MORGAN was a beloved music educator in St. Mary’s County for 30 years. In 2016, he generously donated his prized Steinway grand piano to the College of Southern Maryland’s Leonardtown Campus. Following his death, the Benny C. Morgan Recital Series was instituted. Admission to the recitals in the series is free due to the generosity of community sponsors.


Sponsored by the CSM Foundation abd The Alvey Family.
Grants provided by the St. Mary’s County Arts Council and the Maryland State Arts Council.


Download as iCal

Return To Calendar

CMS Page Edit