Presidential Search



College of Southern Maryland (CSM) President Dr. Maureen Murphy formally announced on Thursday April 21, 2022, that she will retire from CSM Dec. 31, 2022. Earlier, she took time to share the story of her own educational journey as well as some thoughts about her 35-year career drawing to an end as the fifth president of Southern Maryland’s nationally recognized community college – time she describes as “the best part of her career."

 View the Press Release

Executive Search Profile

executive search profile cover

With the retirement of President Maureen Murphy on December 31, 2022, the College of Southern Maryland Board of Trustees is seeking confidential nominations and expressions of interest for the college’s next president.

The next candidate will be a visionary, humanistic, and compassionate leader who is passionate about leading a student-centered institution and ensuring student equity and success. The new president will maintain a national level of higher education involvement and be well-versed in local, national, and global trends with an understanding of how the changing landscape of higher education shapes the student and the community college experience. The new president will be someone who understands diversity and the skills needed to navigate dynamic demographic and socioeconomic changes to the local community and constituents the college serves. The new president will lead the institution by honoring and building on past achievements, setting a vision for the future that enhances and manages opportunities for innovation and growth as the college continues to provide quality educational programs and services for residents and partners in the tri-county region that makes up Southern Maryland.

Download the Executive Search Profile

Presidential Search Firm

Presidential Search Firm

CSM’s Board of Trustees has selected RH Perry & Associates to conduct the search for its next president. The Board seeks confidential nominations and expressions of interest for the College’s sixth president. The successful candidate will build upon the accomplishments the College made under the leadership of Dr. Murphy and lead the institution to greater heights as it continues to provide quality educational programs and services to the residents of Southern Maryland.

View Website

This site will be updated as more information becomes available.

RH Perry Candidate Policy

RH Perry & Associates is committed to the highest standards of professionalism in all dealings with candidates, sources, and references.  We fully respect the need for confidentiality and assure interested parties that their background and interests will not be discussed without their consent.


For More Information

Please send inquiries to:

For more information please contact:

Gena Glickman, PhD
Senior Consultant
RH Perry & Associates

Paul G. Doeg
President & Chief Operating Officer
RH Perry & Associates

Larisa Pfeiffer  
Chief of Staff, Office of the President
College of Southern Maryland

Search Timeline

Phase 1 (Spring 2022): Pre-search Assessment. The search firm will work with the Board of Trustees and the college community to develop a profile.  The Board will also appoint a search committee during this phase. 


Phase 2 (Summer 2022): Recruitment of Candidates. 


Phase 3 (Fall 2022): Selection and Evaluation of Candidates. The search committee will interview semi-finalists and recommend final candidates to the Board of Trustees. 

Phase 4 (Fall 2022): Finalist interviews.  This is when the entire college community has the opportunity to meet the candidates in person and give feedback to the Board. 

Phase 5 (Fall 2022): Appointment.  The Board of Trustees will select and appoint a new president, who will begin in January 2023. 

Presidential Search Committee

  • Shawn Coates, Search Committee Chair
  • Jay Webster, Search Committee Co-Chair
  • Cordelia Postell, Search Committee Trustee Member
  • Larisa Pfeiffer, Chief of Staff, ex-officio
  • Theodore Harwood (Ted), CSM Foundation
  • Judith (Judy) Mills, Vice President Financial Services
  • Ellen Flowers-Fields, Associate Vice-President, Continuing Education Workforce Development
  • George Bedell, Faculty Senate President
  • Stephen Johnson, Associate Dean
  • Heather Zeolla, Director of Campus Operations
  • Lena Hancock, Director of Marketing
  • Trenace Richardson, Director of Organizational Development
  • Valerie Shelton, Associate Professor
  • Timothy Fenner, Program Coordinator, Men of Excellence
  • Jimmy Eppley, Systems Administrator
CMS Page Edit