Billboard

Faculty Advising


Contact Us

E-mail: advisor@csmd.edu


La Plata Campus

Administration (AD) Building, Room 101
Phone: 301-934-7574


Leonardtown Campus

Building C, Room 105
Phone: 240-725-5320


Prince Frederick Campus

Building B, Room 205
Phone: 443-550-6026


Waldorf Center for Higher Education

Student Services Office,
Suite 1020
Phone: 301-632-2900

Partners in your success!

Faculty are listed by specialty area. Make a connection with a subject expert!

Biological and Physical Sciences

Programs include Biological Sciences, Biotechnology, and Environmental Studies and more.

Biology and Environmental Science

Kathy Lauber
Professor Lauber meets with students in Fall and Spring semesters (only) who are taking biology courses and who have the following program and career field interests: Biology, Biotechnology, Nursing requirements, Associates degree in Nursing to Bachelor’s in Nursing (RN-BSN), or Environmental Science. Students who need assistance with prerequisite overrides or other record holds may contact Academic Advising for information on these processes. Professor Lauber is located in ST 213 at the La Plata campus.
Email kathleen@csmd.edu to schedule an appointment.

Jean Russ
Professor Russ meets with students majoring in Biology and Environmental Science.
Email JRuss@csmd.edu to schedule an appointment.

Business and Technology

Programs are available in Business, Accounting, Computer Science, Cybersecurity Technology, Information Technology, Construction Management, Hospitality Management, Engineering Technology, Drafting, Electronics, or Robotics.

Accounting:

Stacie Bailey

Stacie Bailey, Accounting and Business Instructor, meets with students majoring in Accounting.
Please email slbailey1@csmd.edu to schedule an appointment.



Business:

Thomas Luginbill
Thomas Luginbill, Instructor, is the Director of the Entrepreneur and Innovations Institute at CSM, and will meet with students who are interested in entrepreneurship and/or the Certificate or Letter of Recognition in Small Business Entrepreneurship.
Please email tluginbill@csmd.edu to schedule an appointment.


Cybersecurity and Information Services Technology:

Renee Jenkins
Professor Jenkins is happy to meet with prospective and current students about Information Services Technology, Cybersecurity and Computer Science careers, degrees and courses. Professor Jenkins is located at the Prince Frederick Campus.
Email reneej@csmd.edu to schedule an appointment.

John Wilson
Professor John Wilson meets with students interested in Information Services Technology and Cybersecurity programs of study. His office is on the La Plata campus.
Email johnw@csmd.edu to schedule an appointment.


Hospitality Management:

Gemma Wenner, Associate Professor, meets with students who are interested in career information in hospitality, tourism, event management, travel, lodging and the restaurant industry. To be contacted, please email gwenner@csmd.edu with your name and phone number. Associate Professor Wenner is located at the La Plata campus.
______________________________________________________________________________________________

Office Technology and Networking:

Daphne Powell
Professor Powell meets with students in OFT or Networking classes.
Email daphnep@csmd.edu to schedule an appointment.



Communication, Arts, and Humanities

Programs include, Music, Art History to Digital Media Production, Philosophy, Graphic Design and more.

Digital Media Production or Media Studies:

Olaniyi Areke
Professor Areke meets with students in Fall and Spring semesters (only) who are enrolled in Digital Media Production (DMP) courses; or majoring in General Studies: Media Studies or Digital Media Production; or are considering these majors and careers in the DMP field. Students who need assistance with prerequisite overrides or other record holds may contact Academic Advising for information on these processes. Professor Areke is located in ST 161 at the La Plata campus.
Email oareke@csmd.edu to schedule an appointment.


History:

Christine Arnold-Lourie
Professor Arnold-Lourie meets with students pursuing the History Program of Study.
Email chrisa@csmd.edu to schedule an appointment.



Music:

Stephen Johnson
Professor Johnson meets with students pursuing the Music Program of Study.
Email sjohnson2@csmd.edu to schedule an appointment.


Theatre and Dance:

Keith Hight
Professor Hight meets with students pursuing the Theater and Dance Program of Study.
Email hhight@csmd.edu to schedule an appointment.

Health Sciences

Programs include Emergency Medical Services, Health Information Management/Medical Coding, Nursing, Massage Therapy, Medical Assisting, Medical Lab Technology, and Pharmacy Technician. Physical Therapy Assistant, Radiography, Respiratory Therapy and soon, Nuclear Medicine, are completed with articulations to other community colleges in Maryland.

Kathy Lauber
Professor Lauber meets with students in Fall and Spring semesters (only) who are taking biology courses and who have the following program and career field interests: Biology, Biotechnology, Nursing requirements, Associates degree in Nursing to Bachelor’s in Nursing (RN-BSN), or Environmental Science. Students who need assistance with prerequisite overrides or other record holds may contact Academic Advising for information on these processes. Professor Lauber is located in ST 213 at the La Plata campus.

Email kathleen@csmd.edu to schedule an appointment.

Languages and Literature

Programs: English and Spanish

Faculty seeing students interested in English:

Neal Dwyer
Professor Dwyer advises students taking ENG 1020 and upper level literature courses.
Email ndwyer@csmd.edu for appointment.

Bishnu Ghimire
Dr. Ghimire likes to meet with students. PERIOD. He encourages his students to study, (if not to major in), liberal arts education as the discipline has proven to be the most common factor among successful professionals across the board in today's globalized world. He also likes to meet with students who are interested in English and broader Humanities and facilitate students in their efforts at becoming writers. Dr. Ghimire specializes in Modern/Contemporary Anglophone English Literature and Literary Theory. He teaches English at the La Plata Campus.
Email BGhimire@csmd.edu to schedule an appointment.

Erich Hintze
Professor Hintze meets with students who are interested in writing and in becoming writers. His office is on the LaPlata campus.
Email erichh@csmd.edu or call 301-934-7823 to schedule an appointment.

David Robinson
Professor Robinson meets with students who are interested in English and writing. His office is on the La Plata campus.
Email drobinson4@csmd.edu to schedule an appointment.

Michael Suwak
Professor Suwak meets with students taking ENG-1010.
Email michaels@csmd.edu to schedule an appointment.

Mathematics, Physics, and Engineering

Engineering:

Fawaz Roumani
Professor Roumani meets with students who have declared Engineering as their major or who have fulfilled prerequisites to take Engineering courses.
Email faroumani@csmd.edu to schedule an appointment.

 

Social Sciences and Public Services

Programs of study include Criminal Justice, Early Childhood Development, Homeland Security, Human Services, Teacher Education, and more.


Early Childhood Development:

Shaneeza Kazim
Professor Kazim meets with students pursuing Early Childhood Development.
skazim@csmd.edu to schedule an appointment.


Exercise Science and Sport Management:

Eileen Richards
Professor Richards meets with students pursuing the Exercise Science and Sport Management Programs of Study.
Email eileenr@csmd.edu to schedule an appointment.


Criminal Justice/Homeland Security:

William Moroney
Assoc. Professor Moroney meets with students who are interested in courses, degrees and careers in Criminal Justice or Homeland Security.
Email WMoroney@csmd.edu to schedule an appointment.


Social Science majors:

Patrick Allen
Dr. Allen meets with students who are interested in the Social Sciences. His office is on the LaPlata campus.
Email PatrickA@csmd.edu or call 301-934-7862 to schedule an appointment.

Lisa Lynk
Professor Lynk meets with students interested in pursing a degree in the following areas in Social Sciences: Sociology, Psychology and Political Science at the Prince Frederick campus.
Email Lisal@csmd.edu to schedule an appointment.


Teacher Education:

Elizabeth Settle
Professor Settle meets with students who are pursuing Teacher Education and those seeking Maryland Teacher Certification.
Email elizabeth.settle@csmd.edu to schedule an appointment.