Our President

Dr. Maureen Murphy

Dr. Maureen Murphy

President of the College of Southern Maryland (CSM) since July 1, 2017, Dr. Maureen Murphy has been connected with community colleges for nearly 30 years including a decade as a community college president.

Most recently, Murphy served as president of Brookdale Community College, a multi-campus community college in New Jersey, where she forged partnerships with community organizations, school districts, business and industry, donors and other higher education institutions. Among her initiatives were developing early college high school programs, launching a College Promise program for free tuition for all qualified graduates and spearheading a Minority Male Conference to support the academic achievement of minority male students.

Before her appointment at Brookdale in 2012, she served as president of San Jacinto College South in Houston, Texas, and as vice president at both Rappahannock Community College and Wytheville Community College in Virginia. Murphy began her career teaching English at St. Louis Community College-Meramec, where she later served as a dean. Murphy has been an active member of the American Association for Women in Community Colleges since 1995, and has served on the national board including two years as president since 2007.

She has received numerous awards including the Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction by Phi Theta Kappa, the Distinguished Corporate Leadership Award by the Greater Red Bank NAACP and the Carolyn DesJardins CEO of the Year Award by AAWCC. Currently, Murphy is on the board of directors for the American Association of Community Colleges, the national organization representing more than 1,100 colleges.

Murphy earned her bachelor’s degree in English from the University of Louisville, her master’s degree in English from the University of Missouri – Columbia and her doctorate in American Studies from Saint Louis University.

Read the President's Message

President's Council

Dr. Eileen D. Abel

Vice President of Academic Affairs
Responsible for: All credit programs, academic divisions, academic planning, and assessment

Dr. Bill L. Comey

Vice President of Student and Instructional Support Services
Responsible for: Enrollment Management, Admissions, Advisement and Career Services, Financial Assistance, Registrar, Student Success Services, Student Life and Athletics, Information Management Team, Enterprise Systems, Network Administration and Security, Libraries

Barbara Ives

Interim Prince Frederick Campus Dean and Vice President
Responsible for: Prince Frederick Campus Administration, Student Services

Michelle L. Goodwin

Vice President of Advancement
Responsible for: CSM Foundation, Development, Marketing, Community Relations, Auxiliary Services, St. Charles Children's Learning Center

Dr. Tracy A. Harris

Leonardtown Campus Dean and Vice President
Responsible for: Leonardtown Campus Administration, Student Services

Tony R. Jernigan, CPA

Vice President of Financial and Administrative Services
Responsible for: Budget, Financial Operations, Procurement/Contracts, Physical Plant

Dr. Daniel P. Mosser

Vice President of Continuing Education and Workforce Development
Responsible for: All non-credit continuing education programs, Workforce Development, Community Education, Maryland Center for Environmental Training, Small Business Development Center, Corporate Center

Craig W. Patenaude

Esq., General Counsel
Responsible for: General Counsel, Risk Management and Compliance, Public Safety and Preparedness, Human Resources, Payroll