Faculty Excellence Awards

Faculty Excellence Awards

These annual awards recognize outstanding contributions to teaching; curriculum and professional development; college community and the community at large.

Faculty Excellence Awards for Full-Time Faculty

2023 Award Winner Recipient


Kimberley Donnelly, English

“I can think of no faculty member more deserving of this award,” said Dean of CSM’s School of Liberal Arts David Robinson. “Her work in Developmental English has put CSM at the forefront of community colleges nationwide in delivering effective, creative instruction that builds on students’ unique strengths and addresses their unique needs. This kind of student-centered focus is what makes Kim a shining example of what a professor should be, and what CSM is all about.”
Read the Press Release

Past Recipients

Year Recipient Discipline
2022 Richard Bilsker Philosophy
2021 John Kulikowski English
2020 Tracey Stuller Biology

Melanie Osterhouse


2018 Denise Gilmer-Knudsen Communications
2017 Sandra Poinsett Mathematics
 2016 Tara G. McManaway Health Sciences/Massage Therapy
 2015 Bernice D. Brezina Industrial Studies
 2014  Rex Bishop  Business and Economics
 2013  Wayne Karlin  Languages and Literature
 2012  Mary Beth Klinger  Business and Management
 2011  Susan R. Strickland  Mathematics
2010 Jean Russ Environmental Technology & Management
2009 Tom Seremet Mathematics
2008 Laura V. Polk Nursing
2007 Maria I. Bryant Social Sciences
2006 Kathleen P. Lauber Biological and Physical Sciences
2005 Carolin McManus Language
2004 Steven I. Hundert Mathematics
2003 Jean Runyon Computer/Information Services Technology
2002 William Morton Business/Accounting
2001 Ellen Wright López Nursing
2000 Shirlee Levin Speech Communication
1999 Barbara Stephanic Art History
1998 Catherine Stevens Paralegal Studies
1997 Christine Arnold-Lourie History
1996 Richard Siciliano English
1995 Patricia H Genz English
1994 Thomas Gorecki Computer/Information Services Technology
1993 Donna Arcadipane Nursing
1992 William Emley Mathematics
1991 Douglas Zabel Chemistry
1990 Ronald G. Brown History
1989 David Reichard Engineering

Faculty Excellence Awards for Adjunct Faculty

2022 Award Recipient

Gina Johnson

Gina Johnson, Communications

“What made Gina’s submission rise to the top is her obvious commitment to student learning through her classroom teaching,” said CSM Faculty Excellence Committee Chair and Professor Dr. Melanie Osterhouse. “First, Gina makes sure that students have the foundational knowledge and fills the gaps when they don’t. She works to create a learning community out of her classroom to provide that collaborative environment. She continually stays abreast of evolving teaching methods and has started applying real-world skills to her class as a result of her life-long learning.”
Read the Press Release

Past Recipients

Year Recipient Discipline
2021 Christopher Ripley Business
2020 Janine Adair Theater
2019 Latasha Gatling History
2018 John Delabrer Criminal Justice
2017 Beverly Dearstine Russell First Year Experience and Student Success
 2016 Denise Snee Languages and Literature
 2015 Margaret Lee Dowell Art
 2014 John Warren Math, Physics and Engineering
 2013  Yvette Dodson  Education
 2012  Linda Fitzgerald  Nursing
 2011  Leah A. Geiger  Social Science
 2010  Dawn Richards  Social Science
2009 Paula L. Martino Art History
2008 Ronda Jacobs Biological and Physical Sciences
2007 Edith Carron Biological and Physical Sciences
CMS Page Edit