Board of Trustees

The governing body of the college is appointed by the Governor from citizenry of Calvert, Charles, and St. Mary's counties. The board consists of nine members, each given a five-year term of office and may serve up to two consecutive terms.

View Meeting Schedule, Minutes, and Agendas

View Board Policies

Current Officers

shawn coates headshot

Shawn B. Coates
Chair, 2022, 2023

2018-2023 / 2023-2028
Charles County

*2018-2022 / 2020-2025
St. Mary's County

2023 - present
CSM President


Charles County

St. Mary's County

*2019-2021 / 2021-2026
Calvert County

*2019-2022 / 2022-2027
Charles County

cathy allen headshot

Cathy Allen

*2022 / 2023-2028
St. Mary's County


placeholder for no photo

Celeste Alexander-Frye

Calvert County

*Completed remainder of another trustee’s term before being appointed for their own five-year term.

Board Liaisons

Craig Patenaude headshot

Craig Patenaude, Esq.

Vice President of Policy, Government Relations, and General Counsel 


Larisa Pfeiffer Headshot

Larisa Pfeiffer, Ed.D.
CSM Alumna

Chief of Staff



Stacey Cooke, Human Resources and Benefits Committee, 2014-present

Daryl Motley, Audit Committee, 2019-Present

Trustee Emeriti

Louis P. Jenkins (1999)
John T. Parran, Jr.  (1999)
Henry L. Burke (1999)
Veronica E. Coates (1999)
William Daniel Mayer (1999)
Michael A. Besche (2000)
Dianne McWilliams (2000)
Verna M. Posey (2002)

Delores C. Datcher (2004)
Joseph F. Shannon, Jr (2010)
Mary M. Krug (2016)
James K. Raley, Jr. (2016)
Charles R. Bailey (2016)
Michael L. Middleton (2016)
Dorothea H. Smith (2018)
Theodore L. Harwood, II (2020)

Executive Cabinet

yolanda wilson headshot

Yolanda Wilson, Ed.D.

no photo available

Jacquelyn Madry-Taylor, Ed.D.

Interim Vice President for the Division of Learning (DOL)

tracy harris headshot

Tracy A. Harris, Ph.D.
Vice President of Student Equity and Success (SES)

Headshot of Ron Price

Ron Price

Vice President of People, Culture, and Equity (PCE)

bill comey headshot

Bill L. Comey, Ph.D.
Vice President of Operations and Planning (OPP)

craig patenaude headshot

Craig W. Patenaude, Esq.
Vice President of Policy, Government Relations, and General Counsel


larisa pfeiffer headshot

Larisa Pfeiffer, Ed.D.
Chief of Staff

no photo available


Executive Assistant to the President

CMS Page Edit