CSM Newsroom

Thirteen CSM Students Get Down to Business; Join Kappa Beta Delta Honor Society

May 3, 2024

Thirteen College of Southern Maryland (CSM) business students, including seven Early College students in the Business Management program, were recently celebrated as they were inducted into the Kappa Beta Delta Honor Society during a ceremony held at the Regional Hughesville Campus April 23. The international society invites students to join Delta Phi – CSM’s chapter of Kappa Beta Delta – because they are in the top 20 percent of their class.

CSM Professor Christopher Ripley, the Kappa Beta Delta faculty advisor, welcomed attendees to the event and introduced the honored guests. Chair of the Business Department Tony Stout took the mic next to congratulate the inductees and to give guests an overview of the philosophy of CSM’s business department.

“Business is hard and it’s real,” he said. “Trying to bring the real-world experience to class is what we are all about. We want these students to be ready because they’ve already seen these situations. And it’s fun! I’m honored to watch these students and see their path forward.”

Following Stout’s remarks, Kappa Beta Delta Vice President Alexis Corcoran introduced the guest speaker, Educational Systems Federal Credit Union (ESFCU) President Girado Smith. CSM’s Kappa Beta Delta chapter is generously supported by the ESFCU.

“Let us embark on a journey, not only to honor our achievements but to discover the core values that will guide your path to success,” Smith said. “When our actions are rooted in core values, we leave an impression on those we touch... the most successful individuals, those who truly live their core values, rise above the rest.”

dr-wilson-2024-headshot-final.jpgAfter the students were officially inducted into the society, Ripley, on left, presented Smith with an honorary Delta Phi membership, shown right.

“For your illustrious career and your selflessness in coming and giving us this talk, I’d like to induct you as our first honorary member,” he said.

The following CSM students were inducted into the honor society:

  • Sandra Cook
  • Hailey Lobenstine
  • Jeannine Dewitt
  • Trinity Watford*
  • Kyle Kost*
  • Eli Stevens*
  • Aaliyah Roach
  • Heather Shymansky
  • Lydia Chandler*
  • Sarah Beale
  • Gabrielle Lee*
  • Carla Jones*
  • Mark White*

*Early College student

In addition to the students’ achievements, Ripley was also recently honored with an appointment to the Board of Directors for Kappa Beta Delta. In their announcement email, the Kappa Beta Delta Board of Directors shared that “although you are a relatively new KBD Chapter Advisor, we are impressed with how vital your chapter is already under your leadership."

To view or download photos from the induction ceremony, please visit https://csmphoto.zenfolio.com/p948954055

About Kappa Beta Delta: To host a chapter of Kappa Beta Delta, a school must be accredited by the Accreditation Council for Business Schools & Programs (ACBSP). ACBSP is present at more than 1,000 campuses across the globe including over 160 associate degrees institutions. CSM’s accounting, business administration and business management programs are all ACBSP accredited.

To view photos of the induction ceremony, please visit https://csmphoto.zenfolio.com/p948954055.

CMS Page Edit