About the CSM Foundation

csm foundation logoWelcome to the College of Southern Maryland Foundation.

Who We Are

Established in 1970, the CSM Foundation is the non-profit, 501(c)3 charitable organization and fundraising arm of the College of Southern Maryland. We connect donors and their goals with students and college needs.

CSM proud logoWhy It Matters

We transform the lives of our students and our community by providing access to high-quality and affordable education. Our donors help open the doors to higher education in Southern Maryland, close the money gap for students who cannot afford to pursue their educational or workforce training goals, and encourage the achievements of those who choose CSM as a path to success.

What We Do

Comprised of an all-volunteer tri-county Board of Directors, the CSM Foundation raises friends and funds to support students and college initiatives. We promote scholarships, programs, technology, professional development and special projects that strengthen and develop CSM and our students.Through the support and investment of our generous partners and donors, the CSM Foundation manages net assets of approximately $13.7 million in FY2020.

In the past ten years:

$8.6 million Raised in scholarship and program funds
$6.3 million Awarded in support of credit and workforce development scholarships and programs Including the arts, athletics, nursing, STEM, technology, outreach efforts, etc.
600 Scholarships Awarded Annually By the CSM Foundation on average in the past 10 years

Foundation Board

Kim Rosenfield headshot


Kimberly Rosenfield
Vice President 
Morgan Stanley Wealth Management 

Brenda Lowe headshot

Vice Chair

Brenda Lowe
Treasury Management Sales Officer
WesBanco Bank, Inc.

Shawn Coates headshot

Trustee Representative

Shawn B. Coates 
Chief of Staff
Mission Integration

Dr. Murphy headshot


Dr. Maureen Murphy 
College of Southern Maryland

Dexter bordes headshot
Dexter Bordes
DM&T Development
Karen Elder headshot
Karen W. Elder '19
Technical Recruiter
Precise Systems
Ted Harwood
Ted Harwood
Lead Engineer
Dixie Miller headshot
Dixie Miller
Educational & Business Consultant
Dixie Miller PRESENTS, LLC
Lisa Oliver
Lisa Oliver '97
Employee Development Manager
David Osterhouse
David Osterhouse
Senior Associate
Mudd, Lakes and Moreland, LLC
Trey Proctor headshot
Trey Proctor
Associate Vice President of Strategic Management
G.S. Proctor & Associates, Inc.
Harry Shasho
Harry Shasho
President & Broker
Shasho Consulting PA
Commercial Real Estate
Gary Simpson headshot
Gary Simpson
Principal Agent/Owner
Simpson's Olde Towne Insurance
Kelly Robertson-Slagle '95
Kelly Robertson-Slagle '95
Director of Economic Development
Calvert County
Samantha Stratchko '18
Samantha Stratchko '18
AVP, Business Development Officer
Community Bank of the Chesapeake
La Plata, MD
Eric Vrem
Eric Vrem
Executive Vice President of Operations
Health Prime
Randall Williams
Randall Williams
Meinhardt Properties

Foundation Staff

Chelsea Brown headshot

Chelsea Clute '06

Acting Executive Director of the CSM Foundation
Director of Development
301-934-7649 (O)
240-429-0959 (C)

Taylor Kiessling

Taylor Kiessling '11

Executive Assistant to the Foundation Board of Directors

Kelly Porter headshot

Kelly Porter '99

Development Operations Coordinator

Directors Emeriti

Michael Besche
Gregory C. Cockerham
Linda Cox
Kent Croft
Cecil Deihl
Jack E. Havenner
Evelyn Hungerford
Al Leandre
Jay Lilly
Steve Lowe
John McWilliams
Donald M. Parsons
Steve Proctor
Jenny Wamsley
Thomas Watts

CMS Page Edit